News Bytes 8-15-2007

August 15, 2007 § 29 Comments

Skin Within

Skin Within has a free skin hunt. One of the L$1200 skins (which is in it’s regular place) is currently marked to L$0 until 7am Aug 16.


Korvin Kreations

Korvin Kreations has moved. New SLurl.


Subscribe-O-Matic

The Subscribe-O-Matic system has been announced and is starting to be used as some update groups. I was a little leary of how well this would work when I was off line, but I have received my first off line message and it came through without difficulty. I have also received an image without difficulty. So I think I may like it. You’re not limited to the 25 group limit and there’s no group chatter. And it doesn’t send you an IM. It shows up in nearby chat. Just click the kisok at the stores to subscribe. So who’s using it so far?

What’s the downside? Currently there is no way to check the notice archive.

Know of any more groups using the Subscribe-O-Matic? Leave them in the comments.

tanya.jpg

§ 29 Responses to News Bytes 8-15-2007

  • Dpende says:

    Truth.

  • Kyoot Army is also using it.

    I don’t like not being able to check notice archives (which I do daily) and hope that the majority of my update groups decide to keep their standard groups active for this purpose.

    Logging-in to a barrage of things sent, whilst IMs are coming in and just general rezzing is happening is too much…I like to take my time going through notices and archives are critical for that.

    Group notices and chat seems fixed for me with the newest voice viewer so I have no problems with those anymore.

    Finally, the fact that we have only 25 slots for groups means you have to choose carefully and if you’re in a group, generally it means that you *really* care about the information you get from that group. It forces a choice that in some ways, shows customer loyalty.

  • Betty Doyle says:

    I started using it a couple of days ago for Ingenue. 🙂

  • Lexi Morgan says:

    At this time, I wont be changing for a lot of reasons. Main reason is because I like communicating back and forth with my group. They’re a great bunch of people and I would seriously miss chatting with them. Secondly, I send out a lot of free member only items (and have well over 1000 members) ..and I think it would be a pain to have to send the items to every new person that joins that’s looking for them since there are no notice archives for them to look through. Maybe I’m not clear on how this new system works.. I’m sure it has its ups also but I dont see it benefitting *me* in particular. I’m only seeing a handful of businesses using (I think), so maybe I’m not alone in feeling this way?

  • Saeya says:

    Noticed the Sloog you posted is incorrect for my store, I moved recently and thats the old one 🙂

    The new one is:
    Kyoot Army, Vakkert Gal (190, 223, 21)

    Thanks for letting people know about this system. I’m loving it so far and the feedback I’ve received from people in my group has been great.

  • Tanya Book says:

    @Gillian & Lexi, I read on the website that archive of notices is supposed to be in the next version.

    @ Gillian, I hear your concerns. I’m not advocating that everyone convert to them. But I’ve had to give up some update groups I dearly love to join some business groups.

    @Dpende & Betty, Added!

    @Lexi, ETD had it set up so you got a gift when you clicked to join. Apparently it was automatic. But I don’t think it would give you that “open communication” that you have with your current group.

    Actually, The group I have the most trouble with chat spam is Fashion Consolidated. I love getting the info from all the groups, but I almost wish there was a way that that one could be done like Subscribe-O-Matic.

  • Yup I understand why some brands are switching (and why it’s good to free up group slots) and I will definitely be using it as people migrate over. I just hate to lose the archives 🙂

  • Lexi Morgan says:

    Right on, Tanya. As much as I loved being a part of Fashcon, I left it due to the chat spam. The SL group chat bug (when you closed the chat and it kept going) with that group in particular drove me absolutely bonkers. This would definitely be ideal for them I think and I would probably join it again.

  • Ana Lutetia says:

    I left FashCon. There’s too much info to deal with… When I am at work I used to receive tons of mails with notices.

    I like this new system but I’ll miss archives…

    Tanya, GREAT post. I subscribe a few but didn’t know where to go next. :))

  • Nymphetamine is also using it. And I believe Nylon Outfitters as well.

  • Tanya Book says:

    nylon is one of those that I gave up in the past. I’ll have to go subscribe. Thanks for the heads up.

  • Ana Lutetia says:

    It would be really great if the Subscribe-O-Matic site had the list of stores/places. 🙂

  • Tanya Book says:

    talk them into it Ana. 🙂

  • Refuge has started to use the system.

    As for the archiving.. i know they are in the works at making it happen and i hear it’ll be above and beyond the current group archives. Can’t wait for that to be setup.

  • Dpende says:

    Refuge.

  • Ana Lutetia says:

    Done! I’ve sent an IM to the creator asking for it.

    Now, I am going to subscribe more groups. 🙂

  • caLLie cLine says:

    i may try it, but i will always keep my group… (i think) as they already told me they’d cage me up if i closed it…

    they’re a little chatty at times, and a lovable as heck, and funnier than i can deal with sometimes, so maybe the 0-matic thing will be great for those who don’t want the more intimate thing the group brings, although i never know when “chat” is happening as i’ve had chat group bugs for months.

    hi to eveyrone!!!

    xoxo,

    caLLie

  • Tardis Noel says:

    Thanks for posting this Tanya. Subscribe-o-matic seems to be a great thing (although I haven’t received any notices from any of them yet?) becasue I hate being maxxed out on my groups all the time. If it was so easy to create how come LL couldn’t do it?? hmmm?

  • Tanya Book says:

    @Callie, That could be a great thing. Group for those who want to be chatty and social. Subscribe-O-Matic for those who just don’t want to be social. (Hey, I’m one of those anti-social people on occasion.)

    @Tardis, I’ve gotten 2 or 3 notices so far. I don’t know why LL couldn’t do it. Maybe we could talk them into purchasing it?

  • Arianna Psaltery says:

    Much much love for making this list 🙂 These were some of the ones i sacrificed with the darn 25 group limit 😉

  • Rav Hartunian says:

    Heya Tanya! I’m just adding that Accessories by Eolande is also using this system. I don’t have the coords right now but her main shop is located on Ohana Isle.

    And actually, I really love this idea for the systems. I keep having to leave groups to join another for one reason or another, and I would love to be able to keep every single one. All of the groups that I have joined are from places that I love the work coming out of it. Granted, I will miss some of the groups that I am in that will close due to this system. *shrug* Pros and cons I guess.

  • Elika says:

    Just wanted to say that the creator Mso Lambert is in the works of making a way to look up past notices, via clicking on the kiosks in addition to many other new features…which is one of the reasons why I love using this.

    I know LL has their own set of issues to hash out and look how long it took to get the updates to groups that we did get. Other things have priority…I understand. For me, some things I can’t wait for. With this system, the creator openly accepts suggestions on how to improve and immediately gets to work on the “workable” ones. I am excited to be using this system and look forward to seeing it’s improvements and time goes on.

    Although I would miss my update group, because feedback was always a plus, but group chat just became insane. With a group pushing 4000 members, the communication tools for my group always seemed broken and I wasn’t the only one who was unhappy.

    I’m sure SM won’t be everyone’s cup of tea, but until LL introduces some advanced features to groups…I personally feel I have no other choice.

  • Tanya Book says:

    The past notices will be an awesome new feature. I really look forward to it.

    @ Elika, I hear you. I’ll miss some of the features of chatting, but for some groups there really aren’t other workable options at the moment. And if you ever need feedback just ask!

  • Wuwu if they get notice archive done – that would be heaven. Then I would have zero complaints 🙂

  • FashionLova says:

    I don’t care for SoM – it’s very impersonal and the great thing about designer groups is showing your support in your profile.

    Still love FashCon – even with the occasional oops – its a small price to pay to see new designers releases -not just the same old tired established designers, some of who have been resting on their questionable laurels for a long time.

  • Tanya Book says:

    Well, I honestly don’t go looking at everyone’s profiles to see what groups they’re in.

    I’m still in Fashion Consolidated and Fashion Emergency, but I find myself occasionally leaving them during times (like the time I did the runway modeling) when I’m just too busy to deal with them and rejoining later. When I have time I wade through designs I don’t really care for to find those truly unique items from a new designer.

  • MSo Lambert says:

    Hey, just wanted to say thanks for all the feedback, it really helps determine what areas of Subscribe-O-Matic I want to improve on next 🙂

    Also, I’m excited to say the message history has been added, as promised, yay! More information about the new features are at http://sm.synthetik-on.net

    Also, the much requested list of businesses using it will be added shortly, along with a way to teleport directly to one of their kiosks, or subscribe to their RSS newsfeed 😉

  • […] the works to improve the system! While the list of stores/businesses isn’t set, you can find here the list made by Tanya Book. For the time being I will use both systems. I will not leave all the groups I […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading News Bytes 8-15-2007 at SL Fashion Notes.

meta

