Lucky number 7

May 15, 2013 § Leave a comment

Still here, actually starting to feel like interacting again. There’s a long post on multi-year depression in this mess but I haven’t gotten to the point where I can look back yet.

So somewhere in the last year I surrendered to mesh. Now, don’t get me wrong, I like mesh: shoes, hair, furnishings. I just haven’t liked mesh clothes because with standard sizes it meant serious changes to Amelia’s shape. I can deal with a flatter stomach, it looks like she started doing sit-ups.  Small breast reductions for certain tops are ok, although I prefer to avoid it. What really gets me is the ass. Amelia didn’t have much of one because I don’t and the addition looks like she had implant surgery and breaks the illusion that she’s me. I would have never expected to have this big a reaction to this particular area but there it is. I know creators are doing their best with the tools they have, I just want to remind people (if anyone is still reading) that the tech isn’t perfect yet.

So I have gotten several tops and some great jackets but today I’m focusing on mesh bottoms because I’ve been so picky about them.

Violet tie blouse with brown slacksThis violet blouse from Maitreya was my first mesh clothing purchase. It’s beautifully vintage and feminine without being frilly. I love this photo because she looks like she’s going to kick someone’e ass in the most ladylike way possible.

The pants are Dench from MichMi. All mesh pants seem to be skinny or giant legs while really defining the ass. Just not for me mostly. These are a nice elegant straight leg. Possibly the most important part is that they fit under many mesh tops and jackets! Mesh items from different designers often don’t play well together but these go beautifully with several other things in my wardrobe. I keep hoping she’ll put out lighter colors but no luck.

Navy jacket and pencil skirt with red blouse and boots.

 

The jacket is the Piper blazer from Elate! and the boots are Will from *G Field*. I got the fatpack and I’m considering proposing to them. They are wonderfully customizable with a number of options to mix and match. The skirt you may not have seen before. It’s the pencil skirt in dark blue from Bilo. Bilo does wonderful Near East inspired clothing but they also have some more traditional western pieces. This skirt is a mesh hybrid so I get the beauty of mesh while it still conforms to my shape instead of the other way around.

 

Blue tank top and jeans at the beachOne more shot, these jeans are from Jane and the top is from Ingenue. It’s interesting because it comes not only in the standard sizes but  also with “wider hip” versions of each so that it works better with mesh bottoms. It sits on top of these jeans without any problem.

So that’s me for now.

ameliabook

 

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Lucky number 7 at SL Fashion Notes.

meta

